Tags

, ,

I’ve always been a huge fan of Laura Mercier makeup; I started out with her tinted moisturizer years ago and have loved it ever since. I find her makeup really easy to use; the textures are fantastic and it’s super easy to blend etc., perfect when you’re in a bit of a rush and don’t want to spend ages faffing with your foundation. There’s an SPF 20 in it too which is a bonus, and there is also an oil free version. I’ve tried that too and it was also pretty good, but I find the normal one a bit sheerer which I prefer and as my skin type is mostly ‘normal’ I wasn’t too bothered about insisting on oil free.

Last time I ran out, I tried the Bobbi Brown tinted moisturizer after a couple of friends had recommended it (plus it’s cheaper!) but whilst it was OK, it didn’t usurp the Laura Mercier one from my affections… Perhaps it’s just my skin tone but I find the LM colours more natural looking, and the finish is a bit lighter. So when I finally finished that tube, I was most excited to replenish my stock, resulting in this:

I got a new tinted moisturizer in Bisque (sometimes I get nude but I’m pretty tanned at the moment and that was too light) and this amazing powder, Invisible Loose Setting Powder. Not only am I happy to have my old standby back, but this powder has made me a powder convert! I always avoided it as I didn’t like the overly matte finish or the obvious ‘makeup’ effect lots of powders had, but this is different. It makes all your makeup look airbrushed, it’s a really soft, pretty finish. You put it on with the fan brush, which buffs your makeup as you apply the powder. Apparently it looks great in photos too, and it’s colourless so anyone can use it… Love it!

