Tags

,

Disclaimer: as you might guess from the title, there’s some colourful language in this post, so if that’s not your jive feel free to come back tomorrow for some cleaner content ;).

I was given this book as a present a couple of months ago, and promptly spent the next two days reading it. If you’ve not heard about this, you’re missing out! Sh*t My Dad Says began life as a Twitter feed that Justin Halpern wrote, quoting the various wisdoms his father had imparted recently. Initially only done for the benefit of his friends, it took off big style and became a web phenomenon, eventually being printed into a book – also called Sh*t My Dad Says.

Some examples of the wisdom of Mr. Halpern Sr. from the book:

On his son’s first day at kindergarten: “You thought it was hard? If kindergarten is busting your ass, I got some bad news for you about the rest of life.”

On a window-breaking mishap: “I don’t give a shit how it happened, the window is broken… Wait, why is there syrup everywhere? Okay, you know what? Now I give a shit how it happened. Let’s hear it.”

And from the Twitter:

“Everybody loves that Da Vinci code book. Bullshit, it sucks. I read it. It’s for all the dummies.”

“Your mother made a batch of meatballs last night. Some are for you, some are for me, but more are for me. Remember that. More. Me.”

“The dog is an outside dog. You want an inside dog, you go get your own inside.”

If you’re looking for a silly gift for someone that will raise a smile in 99.9% of cases, you can’t go wrong with this as far as I’m concerned! My dad swiftly stole it from me when I was finished with it, and as far as I’m aware it’s been doing the rounds in my family ever since.

