Tags

, , ,

I LOVE going to the ballet every now and then when there’s something good on, and so far my ultimate favourite spot to see one is at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden, London. If you’re ever over in London, you have to go there. Some of the tickets are megabucks but there’s usually some reasonably priced ones, and the building is gorgeous. The operas and ballets staged there are always of the highest order too.

A while ago there was a BBC documentary on a new ballet being created at the Royal by the choreographer Wayne McGregor, with Julian Opie as the set designer and Max Richter as the composer. The whole ballet is gorgeous and the score especially so – if you’re not familiar with Max Richter he’s worked on several movie and TV soundtracks, including Waltz With Bashir. Below is my favourite scene from the ballet, with my favourite song from the score, Infra 5. Get the whole album over at Amazon.

I love the way the costumes and the choreography focus on the physical prowess of the dancers, as opposed to the usual frou frou that you see in many ballets (which I also like!). I think the whole thing is just beautiful.

