Tags

, ,

Nigella Lawson is a popular TV cook in the UK, and has written for a lot of different publications, from Vogue to the Times. She’s also released a ton of lovely books; Feast is particularly great. They’re all published in the US too and I believe her shows have been on over here too, not sure if she’s as well known though?

Her recipes always work and don’t require too much fussing, which make her a winner in my book. Without a doubt the recipe I end up making the most often is her Cream Cheese Brownies, from How to Be a Domestic Goddess. They are super easy and extremely delicious – bit too easy to eat however! I helped out at a bake sale for one of the local sports teams last weekend so I made a couple of batches, yum…

Recipe adapted to American measurements, but it’s basically the exact one from the book.

Preheat the oven to 350 ° F.

Start by melting a stick of butter together with 4oz of dark chocolate. As I have the world’s tiniest kitchen (thus no microwave) I melt mine in a bowl over a pan of simmering water, otherwise melt it (carefully!) in the microwave.

Once that’s melted, let it cool off a little bit and in the meantime beat together 2 eggs, 1 cup of sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp sea salt.

Then mix in the cooled chocolate/butter mix, and add 2/3 cup of flour. Mix it all up then spoon half of it into your dish (10” square). I don’t have the right size dish here so I use parchment paper in a larger tin and it works out fine, plus there’s no washing up 🙂

Then cut up half a pack of cream cheese and spread it out over the base before covering it with the rest of the brownie mix.

Then stick them in the oven – I check mine at about 12 minutes because I like mine super gooey. I always look for the edges to be a bit dry looking, and the top to be just cooked. It might take a bit of trial and error to get them the way you like them!

Then enjoy! I have served this as a proper dessert instead of just a cake by putting berries and vanilla frozen yoghurt on the side. Delicious!

 

