Tags

, ,

Last night we went to see the British singer/songwriter, Laura Marling, in concert at Bimbo’s 365 Club here in San Francisco. She was absolutely amazing live, if you get chance to go and see her you should jump at it! If you’re not familiar with her, she’s a 21-year-old from Hampshire in England, and was one of the original members of the band Noah and the Whale. More recently she collaborated with Mumford & Sons on a few things, as she was dating their lead singer, Marcus Mumford (who is now apparently engaged to Carey Mulligan – I can’t keep up with these things!). She just released her third album, A Creature I Don’t Know, and both of her previous albums were nominated for the Mercury Prize. Laura also won Best Female Solo Artist at the Brit Awards in 2011, beating out Ellie Goulding and Paloma Faith, among others.

I have the newest album and the one before it, I Speak Because I Can, and there are some great tracks on both. However seeing her live was a revelation because some of the tracks I wasn’t that keen on before were amazing when she performed them onstage. And my three favourite tracks, Blackberry Stone, Rambling Man and Sophia, were all out of this world.

