Tags

,

Now that my netball season is coming to a close in the next few weeks, I’m looking for something fitness-wise to do that’s a bit more interesting than my gym sessions. I quite enjoy the gym most of the time but find that when that’s my sole form of exercise I get kind of bored and start to lose motivation… Netball has been great as I go twice a week for a couple of hours each time and do tons of running around – it’s both really fun and really great exercise, as well as an opportunity to mix with a different group of people.

I’d quite like to play a different team sport this winter but to be honest I’m a bit intimidated by the idea of starting up something totally new! I’ve literally never played basketball or soccer (football to me!) in my life, and people seem to take sports so seriously here I don’t want to be totally rubbish 🙂

So instead my plan is to train over the winter for a half marathon! I’ve never run anywhere near as far as that before but have been running pretty regularly lately, a few miles at a time. I’m finding that pretty comfortable so I thought that training for a longer distance race would be a good way to push myself out of my comfort zone and give my fitness plan a bit more structure. Also, a friend of mine here is a fab little runner, and ran a half last January in the city. She wants to run another one so having someone to train with and do the long runs with will be really fun! She also just started a blog so swing on over and check her out 🙂

The one we’re thinking of is the Arizona Rock ‘n’ Roll half in Phoenix in January. We have another runner friend who lives down there so it should be a blast. I plan on using this training schedule to prepare for it (at least at the moment that’s the one I intend on using).

Anyone run any of the Rock ‘n’ Roll races? Or planning on training for something in the upcoming months?

